Gourmet About Deli/Bakery Breweriana Wine Beer
 
 

Journal Entries
Day 1 - Travel
Day 2 - London
Day 3 - London
Day 4 - Brussels
Day 5 - Brugse
Day 6 - E. Belgium
Day 7 - S. Belgium
Day 8 - Lucern
Day 9 - Munich
Day 10 - Fussen
Day 11 - Aying
Day 12 - Salzburg
Day 13 - Czech Rep.
Day 14 - Czech Rep.
Day 15 - Prague
Day 16 - Travel
Additional Info
Itinerary
Photo Gallery
Tasting Notes

 
Doug and Mike's 1999 Drunken European Adventure

  1999 Europe Trip Itinerary Doug & Mike's Drunken Europe Trip '99
  Day 1
Mon 6/21/99
Travel - drive to Chicago, plane to London
  Day 2
Tues, 6/22/99
London - Touristy type stuff in London on no sleep
  Day 3
Wednesday, 6/24/99
London - Starting the day off at the Fuller, Smith &, Turner Brewery followed by a trip to the British Museum, Westminister Abbey, Tower of London, several pubs and dinner with friends.
  Day 4
Thursday, 6/24/99
Brussels - Early morning train ride via the Chunnel from London to Brussels. Visit to the Cantillion Lambic Museum. Afterwards, traveling a bit West to Ertvelde for dinner with our friends from the Brouwerij Van Steenberge.
  Day 5
Friday, 6/25/99
Ertvelde and Brugse - Tour of Brouwerij Van Steenberge the quick drive West to Brugse to visit the local splendors
  Day 6
Saturday, 6/26/99
Gent - Visit to the city and perhaps a short trip to the sea.
  Day 7
Sunday, 6/27/99
The rest of Belgium - Long drive to the Abbaye de Scourmont in Chimay, and then a bit north to Dworp for a beer festival with lambic producers such as Hanssens Artisanaal, Lindemans, and Boon.
  Day 8
Monday, 6/28/99
Luzern, Switzerland - Kick ourselves for not bringing our motorcycles as the Alps are within site.
  Day 9
Tuesday, 6/29/99
München - Early morning tour of the Paulaner brewery. Take in the sites.
  Day 10
Wednesday, 6/30/99
München - Day trip to Neuschwanstein (King Ludwig's "Cinderella" castle in Füssen)
  Day 11
Thursday, 7/1/99
Aying, Germany - Visit to Brauerei Aying (Ayinger) and relax in the village
  Day 12
Friday, 7/2/99
Salzburg, Austria - Visit to Mozart's birthplace.
  Day 13
Saturday, 7/3/99
Ceske Budejovice - Pilgrimage to the Budweiser Budavar
  Day 14
Sunday, 7/4/99
Czech Republic - Genealogy search.
  Day 15
Monday, 7/5/99
Prague, Czech Republic - Visit to Prague.
  Day 16
Tuesday, 7/6/99
Travel - Return home

All material copyright 1999-2001 John's Grocery Inc.
All logos and trademarks are property of their respective owners
Private Policy Statement
Last updated 09/09/2001
John's Grocery Inc.
401 E. Market St.
Iowa City, IA 52245
tel: 319.337.2183
fax: 319.339.4904
webmaster@johnsgrocery.com